Anita Schwabe – Eat Your Greens (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48 kHz  | Time – 01:15:32 minutes | 838 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download  | Front Cover | © Rattle

Impressive swinging jazz piano and quartet: I’ve had many pleasurable years composing and playing my own music and am very grateful to finally have a musical photograph of the colours and moods I’ve created over the years.

I would first like to thank Roger Manins for encouraging me to record the album, and thanks to Roger, Ron Samsom, and Cameron McArthur for their inspirational playing and creative input. Thanks also to John Kim for getting such a great live sound, and to Steve Garden for believing in this project.

Thanks to all my family for surrounding me with music from a young age and supporting me all the way in my music endeavours, and to all the tutors I’ve had here and abroad, particularly Roger Sellers who taught me how to swing and always encouraged me to perform my originals.

Thanks to all the great Kiwi jazz pianists who have inspired me, and huge thanks to all the wonderful musicians who have performed and interpreted my music over the years. Without you my compositions would not be as dynamic and colourful.

Thanks to my friend and talented artist Cara Howes for the use of her lovely painting on the cover, and to all my wonderful friends, my lovely children, and my partner Chris for their ongoing support. I hope you enjoy the music. (Anita Schwabe)

1. Eat Your Greens 05:54
2. The Way the Cards Lay 08:15
3. Anger Management 08:01
4. Spring Tide 08:17
5. Spring Ramblings 07:36
6. There Once Was a Time 07:45
7. The Darkness Shall Be Light, the Stillness the Dancing 06:53
8. Who’ll Come Knockin’ at Monk’s Door 06:20
9. Thermal Soaring 08:22
10. Tough Shoes 08:09

Anita Schwabe, piano
Roger Manins, saxophone
Cameron McArthur, bass
Ron Samsom, drums

Recorded by John Kim at the Kenneth Myers Centre, University of Auckland
Mixed and mastered by Steve Garden at Garden Shed Music Studio, Auckland
Produced by Anita Schwabe