Aruán Ortiz – Cub(an)ism (2017) High-Fidelity FLAC Stereo 24bit/44,1kHz

Artist: Aruán Ortiz
Title: Cub(an)ism
Genre: Jazz
Release Date: 2017
Duration: 00:51:29
Quality: High-Fidelity FLAC Stereo 24bit/44,1kHz
Label: Intakt Records

Celebrated pianist Arun Ortiz, known for his work with Esperanze Spalding, Greg Osby, Andrew Cyrille and Terri Lyne Carringto, presents Cub(an)ism, a solo piano recording that brings together a range of musical idioms from and experiences of Cuba, Spain, France and the USA which have formed Ortiz's eclectic playing style. These original compositions highlight the pianist's sensuality and creativity as he moves from heady structure to improvisational surprise.

The acclaimed Cuban pianist and composer Aruan Ortiz, considered "an avatar of creative and progressive improvisation" (Ted Panken, Jazztimes Magazine) and a "first-rate" pianist (Nate Chinen, WBGO Jazz Radio), releases his solo piano album titled "Cub(an)ism". This album was recorded by the engineer Martin Pearson in December 2016 at the Swiss National Radio in Zrich and produced by Intakt Records. "Cub(an)ism is the result of an in-depth conversation with a range of musical idioms and styles, and various experiences from the phases of Ortiz' life, in Cuba, Spain, France and the USA, which have formed his eclectic concept of music. On this album, Ortiz' pieces arise from specific ideas and moods, developed imperceptibly along systematic constructions spiked with the unexpected. Despite a certain adherence to system, the music on Cub(an)ism remains sensual at all times. Using clear but flexible systems, the music lives from structure and surprise. Crystalline structures are abruptly dissolved, clear forms blurred like a reflection in stormy water, before resurfacing. Ortiz' music breathes this magic, the allure of dancing structures". (Florian Keller, liner notes) Since his arrival to the international jazz scene, Aruan has played, recorded or toured with Esperanza Spalding, Greg Osby, Andrew Cyrille, Cindy Blackman-Santana, Terri Lyne Carrington, Oliver Lake, Don Byron, Rufus Reid, Wadada Leo Smith, and Wallace Roney, to name a few.


  1. L'ouverture, Op. 1 (Château de Joux) - 5:59
  2. Yambú - 3:32
  3. Cuban Cubism - 10:47
  4. Passages - 7:46
  5. Monochrome (Yubá) - 3:33
  6. Density (Golden Circle) - 4:51
  7. Dominant Force - 2:32
  8. Intervals (Closer to the Edge) - 3:42
  9. Sacred Chronology - 3:24
  10. Coralaia - 5:25


Back To Top