Choir of Clare College, Cambridge – Arvo Part: Stabat (2020) [24bit FLAC]

Choir of Clare College, Cambridge – Arvo Pärt: Stabat (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:19:44 minutes | 1,16 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © harmonia mundi

When he moved away from serial techniques at the end of the 1960s, having undergone something of a spiritual and artistic transformation, Arvo Pärt turned to the choral tradition of the Middle Ages and the Renaissance for inspiration. From this period of intense study emerged the masterpieces inaugurating his now unmistakable style: the refined, timeless soundworld of “tintinnabulation.” On this release Graham Ross and the Choir of Clare College, Cambridge perform a selection of music by Pärt, James MacMillan & Peteris Vasks.

Encompassing works by Arvo Pärt (Estonia), Pēteris Vasks (Latvia), and James MacMillan (a native of Scotland), this album charts the evolution of choral music in three regions of Northern Europe that saw the rise of a startling new language beginning in the 1980s. Its subsequent development has had far-reaching implications well beyond the staid confines of the house of worship or the serial techniques current at the time. The spiritual focus of this trio of trail-blazers resonates with many of today’s composers, a dimension that has not escaped their listeners or, for that matter, Graham Ross, the enterprising director of music at Clare College, Cambridge.


1. Da Pacem Domine
2. The Woman With the Alabaster Box
3. Plainscapes
4. Magnificat
5. Nunc Dimittis
6. Miserere
7. Stabat Mater

Free Download

Back To Top