Corb Lund – Agricultural Tragic (2020) [24bit FLAC]

Corb Lund – Agricultural Tragic (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/48 kHz | Time – 36:58 minutes | 445 MB | Genre: Country
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © New West Records

Corb Lund embraces his rich and rustic western heritage with a style that’s unique, honest and resolute, while touching on a range of cowboy themes — from rough-and-tumble tales of lawless frontier saloons, to the sombre realities of running a modern family ranch. As a descendant of many generations of rodeo contestants and ranchers, he sings about a life that he and his ancestors have lived themselves, paired with his quick-witted, wry observations of today’s world. As a result of his heritage and the ten years he spent touring the world with his indie rock band, Corb’s writing resonates emphatically with rural and urban audiences alike. It’s a classic sound with a twist, something of a rarity these days, but one that evokes the spirit of the American West, past and present.

Corb Lund’s 11th studio album, Agricultural Tragic, finally puts a name to the genre he’s been embodying all of these years.

Corb Lund coined the term “Agricultural Tragic” to describe his idiosyncratic brand of country, but the odd thing about the Canadian troubadour’s tenth album is that it doesn’t feel as if it belongs to rural provinces. From the moment the record snaps to attention with “90 Seconds of Your Time,” it’s clear that Agricultural has a modernist bent; it’s as steeped in the guitar pop of the ’60s as it is in the open plains of America. Lund still can’t help romanticizing the West, leading his band into a dreamy waltz so he can salute the great author “Louis L’Amour,” and he still spends a fair amount of time essaying a deep-rooted country-rock, but the album is defined by its humor and swagger. That spirit fuels the cool-rolling blues of “Old Men,” the riotous duet with Jaida Dreyer on “I Think You Oughta Try Whiskey,” the Bakersfield twang of “Ranchin’, Ridin’, Romance (Two Outta Three Ain’t Bad),” the frenetic “Rat Patrol,” and the spoken-word closer “Tattoos Blues,” which veers toward absurdity. All of these cuts are loose, clever, and inspired, and they make for one of Lund’s liveliest records. – Stephen Thomas Erlewine

1. 90 Seconds of Your Time (02:41)
2. Old Men (03:29)
3. I Think You Oughta Try Whiskey (feat. Jaida Dreyer) (03:04)
4. Raining Horses (03:08)
5. Oklahomans! (01:52)
6. Grizzly Bear Blues (03:41)
7. Dance with Your Spurs On (02:36)
8. Louis L’amour (03:20)
9. Never Not Had Horses (03:48)
10. Ranchin’, Ridin’, Romance (Two Outta Three Ain’t Bad) (03:13)
11. Rat Patrol (03:01)
12. Tattoos Blues (03:05)

Free Download

Back To Top