Crazy Doberman – Illusory Expansion (2020) [24bit FLAC]

Crazy Doberman – Illusory Expansion (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 36:00 minutes | 414 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Astral Spirits

New release of psy skronk din spiritualism from this revolving door collective of jazz deconstructionists hailing across the wasteland of middle america. Alternate zoning from one psychic plain to the next tracking rapidly across two expansive tape sides; feels like a DMT dissociation with the amount of space travel power packed into so little time. The whole trip flows like orchestral movements, and the attendance is there, with the density of players producing such cohesive sound. equal parts harsh and ethereal, jazz and psychedelic, there’s something for everyone here so tune in and drop out.

Crazy Doberman is a curious outfit, a rotating collective of musicians that come and go for recordings and live performances. The group is centered around Drew Davis, Tim Gick, and John Olsen of Wolf Eyes. Illusory Expansion is far from their first dance – it is more like their 20th release – and features a total of 16 musicians in a free-improvisational jam session. There is a hint of a Bitches Brew vibe herein, but Crazy Doberman is more experimental and not overtly jazz. Other reference points might be the Spontaneous Music Ensemble, Art Ensemble of Chicago, and maybe AMM, Sun Ra, or Gruppo di Improvvisazione Nuova Consonanza. But this is not to say that Illusory Expansion is retro. Instead, it is notably modern but gives a nod to the past. Instrumentation includes various horns, percussion, and what sounds like guitar, bass, flute, and synth among others. The horns and percussion, in particular, are used in unstructured blowouts, while the pieces focusing more on synth provide downtempo atmospheric interludes or discordant abstractions. The density of each offering varies as more or fewer contributors are involved. In all, Illusory Expansion is a nice chunk of sonic experimentation, and likely to appeal to anyone who is interested in the small but important “big band collective improv” genre.


01 – born under an evil star
02 – 518 wagons for california
03 – relentless hunger
04 – nothing but tents
05 – the mutilated forms
06 – verdict of banishment
07 – human tracks!
08 – a vision of angels
09 – an interrupted prayer
10 – effect of the gold fever
11 – the sight of earth

Recorded in 2019 by John Dawson at a Space, Indianapolis, IN.
Edited, Mixed & Mastered by Tim Gick.

Free Download

Back To Top