Doc Watson – Doc Watson and Gaither Carlton (2020) [24bit FLAC]

Doc Watson – Doc Watson and Gaither Carlton (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 36:22 minutes | 319 MB | Genre: Folk
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Smithsonian Folkways Recordings

Doc Watson and Gaither Carlton is a new album of old-time music produced from archival recordings by two legendary musicians. These largely unheard tapes were recorded at Doc Watson’s two earliest concerts, presented in New York City’s Greenwich Village in 1962. Those shows were among the rare appearances Doc’s father-in-law, fiddler Gaither Carlton, made outside of North Carolina. The instrumental pieces, including Gaither’s signature tune “Double File,” include intricate musical interactions developed through years of family music-making. On the songs and ballads, Doc’s instantly recognizable baritone voice is accompanied by his own guitar and Gaither’s fiddle, or by the traditional combination of fiddle and banjo. Shortly after these recordings were made, Doc Watson embarked on a career as one of America’s premier acoustic guitarists, earning the National Medal of Arts and eight Grammy Awards.


1. Doc Watson – Double File
2. Doc Watson – Handsome Molly
3. Doc Watson – He’s Coming to Us Dead
4. Doc Watson – Corrina
5. Doc Watson – Brown’s Dream
6. Doc Watson – Groundhog (Blind Lemon’s Version)
7. Doc Watson – My Home’s Across the Blue Ridge Mountains
8. Doc Watson – Bonaparte’s Retreat
9. Doc Watson – Willie Moore
10. Doc Watson – The Blue Ridge Mountain Blues
11. Doc Watson – Goin’ Back to Jericho
12. Doc Watson – Billy in the Low Ground
13. Doc Watson – Reuben’s Train
14. Doc Watson – The Dream of the Miner’s Child
15. Doc Watson – Groundhog (F.O.T.M. Version)

Free Download

Back To Top