Everlast – The Life Acoustic (2013)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 45:11 minutes | 511 MB | GenreL Hip-Hop, Rock, Acoustic
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks.com | Front cover | © Martyr Inc Records

The Life Acoustic is the newest album by House of Pain front-man Everlast. The songs on the album are from previous Everlast records that were largely ignored, re-done in an acoustic, stripped-down setting. There’s even an acoustic version of “Jump Around”, House of Pain’s most famous 1992 hit.

Everlast refashioned himself into a badass troubadour only a few years after pulling the plug on House of Pain, so his release of an all-acoustic album isn’t such a surprise (although it has to be said, the Wes Anderson parody of the title and artwork of The Life Acoustic is indeed a shock). Strictly speaking, the 12 songs on The Life Acoustic aren’t just Everlast-with-guitar. There are some subtle additions of keyboards or another six-string and, when he gets around to singing the immortal HOP song “Jump Around,” there’s a rhythm section, too. This stripped-down setting emphasizes some lingering blues and country influences lying within his songs — listen to the swinging skip of “My Medicine” — and sometimes it makes him seem like a bit of a sensitive singer/songwriter. Either way, his songs are served well in this intimate setting and the record also reveals Everlast has a deeper catalog than some might think.

01 – Sad Girl
02 – Black Jesus
03 – Today
04 – Broken
05 – Stone in My Hand
06 – Weakness
07 – Children’s Story
08 – Stay
09 – My Medicine
10 – Lonely Road
11 – Grandma’s Hand
12 – Jump Around?