Artist: Hannes Minnaar
Title: Sergei Rachmaninov: Piano Sonata No. 1; Maurice Ravel: Sonatine & Miroirs
Genre: Classical
Release Date: 2011
Duration: 01:06:17
Quality: High-Fidelity DSF Stereo DSD64/2.82MHz
Label: Etcetera Records

Only a few works for piano, notably the Menuet antique (1895), his first composition for piano, the Pavane pour une infante dfunte (1899) and Jeux d’eau (1902) preceded Miroirs (1905), the suite in five movements composed when Ravel was thirty years old, although he was also working on his unsurpassed Sonatine at the same time. Unlike Rachmaninoff, Ravel did not prepare himself for his larger and more complete piano works with a series of miniatures or Moments musicaux; Ravel’s music was fully formed from the beginning, although he had nonetheless made use of forms used by earlier composers in the Menuet antique and the Sonatine as well as in the Liszt-inspired Jeux d’eau. He shook himself free of classicism in Miroirs, seeing in them the possibility of developing a style of composition for piano from a primarily harmonic viewpoint. He said that he had composed Miroirs in order to break away from his Jeux d’eau, writing later in 1928 that “Miroirs was a collection of piano pieces that marked such a pronounced change in my harmonic development that it bewildered all of the musicians who until then had dan no difficulties with my style whatsover”.


01 – Piano Sonata No. 1- I. Allegro moderato
02 – Piano Sonata No. 1- II. Lento
03 – Piano Sonata No. 1- III. Allegro molto
04 – Sonatine- Modrtr
05 – Sonatine- Mouvement de menuet
06 – Sonatine- Animr
07 – Sonatine- Noctuelles
08 – Miroirs- Oiseaux tristes
09 – Miroirs- Une barque sur l’ocean
10 – Miroirs- Alborada del gracioso
11 – Miroirs- La vallee des cloches