Hurts – Desire (2017) [24bit FLAC]

Hurts – Desire (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 44:07 minutes | 513 MB | Genre: Pop
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Sony Music Entertainment

“Desire” is the fourth studio album by English synth-pop duo of Theo Hutchcraft and Adam Anderson. “Hurts” follow up their 2015 success album “Surrender” with the release of their fourth album “Desire”, featuring the single “Beautiful Ones”. Desire is the sound of a group who have thoroughly found themselves and sees them standing supremely confident, whilst retaining elements of older material including “Wonderful Life” and “Miracle”.

British duo Hurts emerged in 2010 with Happiness, an album of fashionably minimalist, ’80s-influenced electronic pop, expertly showcasing lead singer Theo Hutchcraft’s moody croon and Adam Anderson’s evocative arrangements — which they smartly, and somewhat cheekily, promoted via a handful of stylishly throwback black-and-white videos. It all read as an inspired pastiche of Violator-era Depeche Mode crossed with Actually-era Pet Shop Boys, gorgeously melancholy and elegantly cold. But the brilliant part was that they contrasted this icy vibe with tightly constructed songs, most of which bore a streak of unexpected uplift within the music’s emotional drama. It’s that uplifting streak the duo seize and run with on their fourth full-length album, 2017’s deeply romantic Desire. Musically speaking, as with their other post-Happiness albums, Desire finds Hurts continuing to expand their artistic scope, touching upon elements ranging from anthemic pop (“Wherever You Go”) and piano-driven balladry (“Something I Need to Know”) to disco-funk (“Boyfriend”). There’s a sophistication to the productions on Desire that finds them balancing stripped-down keyboard and vocal duets like the tender “Chaperone” with more ambitious arrangements like the steamy, Prince-esque “Wait Up,” with its jazz trumpet coda. But of course, the most obvious difference is that while past albums mined emotions like heartbreak, fear, and isolation, Desire is characterized by optimism and joy, like a neon love letter to the band’s fans. Cuts like the opening “Beautiful Ones,” with its slowly building four-on-the-floor beat, and the effusive “Thinking of You” are airy, ebullient anthems seemingly composed in the sway of passion. That passion is particularly brought to cinematic life on the flamenco-accented “People Like Us,” in which Hutchcraft embraces his lover like a “scene from an old Italian movie,” and sings “All around the world/People like you and me falling in love.” Even when it comes to the few breakup songs on the album, like “Walk Away,” Hutchcraft and Anderson can’t help but frame the sentiment in bubbly synths and an infectious “Dancing on the Ceiling” dance pulse. Admittedly, Desire is the least monochromatic of the band’s albums. If they’ve evinced fealty to Stock, Aitken & Waterman’s bubblegummy ’80s work with artists like Kylie Minogue (she appeared on Happiness), then Desire goes even further to embrace a sound that largely eschews goth cool in favor of buoyant, feel-good hooks. That abundance of pop sweetness on Desire might be a bit much if it weren’t so deftly balanced by their knack for wryly drawn details. On the groover “Ready to Go,” Hutchcraft sings of the song’s capable teen femme fatale, “She’s looking at everybody with a secret smile/She’s got a black tattoo on her body, and it says,’When I die, yeah, you know I’ll be ready to go’.” Hurts have never shied away from grandiose musical gestures, something fans of their deeply emotive live shows and theatrical videos can attest to. With Desire, they’ve found a way to capture that amorous pop intensity and send it flooding back toward their audience. As Hutchcraft sings over the ring of a gospel chorus on album closer “Magnificent,” “This love of ours, it’s something brilliant.” ~ Matt Collar


01 – Beautiful Ones
02 – Ready to Go
03 – People Like Us
04 – Something I Need to Know
05 – Thinking of You
06 – Wherever You Go
07 – Chaperone
08 – Boyfriend
09 – Walk Away
10 – Wait Up
11 – Spotlights
12 – Hold on to Me
13 – Magnificent

Free Download

Back To Top