Jimi Hendrix & Little Richard – Roots of Rock (1974/2019) [24bit FLAC]

Jimi Hendrix & Little Richard – Roots of Rock (1974/2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 25:09 minutes | 518 MB | Genre:Rock
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Everest Records

Compatible Stereo and Quadraphonic 1974 Album by Jimi Hendrix with Little Richard from 1964-5 recordings–on Everest “Archive of Folk & Jazz Music”.

For those who associate Jimi Hendrix with hard rock, heavy metal and psychedelic rock, and Little Richard with early rock & roll, the two might seem an unlikely combination. But in fact, Richard did hire Hendrix as a sideman in 1964-65, when the material heard on this LP was recorded. At that point, Hendrix was far from a superstar – he had yet to form the Jimi Hendrix Experience, record an album under his own name or embrace the type of music that would eventually be named heavy metal and would have a direct or indirect influence on everyone from Led Zeppelin, Black Sabbath and Judas Priest to Mother’s Finest, Mahogany Rush and Living Colour. The main attraction of these recordings is the singing of Richard, who offers passionate, frenzied performances on such early rock & roll favorites as “Lawdy Miss Claudie,” “Whole Lotta Shakin’ Goin’ On” and his own hit “Tutti Frutti.” Hendrix does no singing whatsoever; he sticks to his guitar playing and is employed in strictly a supportive role. Nonetheless, Hendrix’s diehard fans will find these recordings of interest – and Richard fans will know that the rock & roll pioneer is in fine form. ~  Alex Henderson

1. Lawdy Miss Claudie (02:25)
2. Money Honey (02:25)
3. Tutti Frutti (02:52)
4. Goodnight Irene (02:45)
5. Hound Dog (02:20)
6. Whole Lotta Shakin’ Goin’ On (02:55)
7. Keep On Knockin’ (03:17)
8. Goin’ Home Tomorrow (03:15)
9. Lucille (02:52)


Free Download

Back To Top