Mark De Clive Lowe – Heritage (2019) [24bit FLAC]

Mark De Clive Lowe – Heritage (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 40:53 minutes | 471 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Ropeadope

HERITAGE is the first installment of the new two-album series from pianist, composer and live remixer Mark de Clive-Lowe. For the half-Japanese half-New Zealander, these two albums (his 15th and 16th albums respectively) are by far his most personal work yet – deep diving into his Japanese ancestry and cultural roots through the lens of jazz, electronica and beats in collaboration with his LA band of world-class musicians – Josh Johnson (Leon Bridges/Esperanza Spalding), Teodross Avery (Talib Kweli/Mos Def), Brandon Eugene Owens (Terrace Martin/Robert Glasper), Brandon Combs (Moses Sumney/Iman Omari) and Carlos Niño (Build An Ark/Lifeforce Trio).

HERITAGE is about identity and one’s place in the world – it sees MdCL sharing new compositions inspired by childhood folk stories, the mythology of his motherland and his own personal experiences in Japan, all wrapped up in his blend of jazz and sample culture influences . In addition to his own compositions, he interprets traditional Japanese folk songs, one on each album – the delicate solo piano rendition of “Akatombo” on this first installment. Every track has a specific story behind its name and intention – a complete narrative to the two albums.

The material for the albums was recorded over three nights of live concerts at LA’s legendary Blue Whale jazz club in Little Tokyo, and one day in studio. With a traditional jazz group setup augmented by MdCL’s arsenal of samplers, keyboards, drum machine and technology alongside his grand piano, this is his personal take on both jazz and what Japan – and being Japanese – means to him.


01. The Offering (7:18)
02. Bushidō 1 (6:54)
03. Memories of Nanzenji (6:51)
04. Mizugaki (6:00)
05. Akatombo (2:06)
06. Niten-Ichi (7:43)
07. Asa no Yume (4:04)

Free Download

Back To Top