Miracle Whips – The Art of Facts (2020) [24bit FLAC]

Miracle Whips – The Art of Facts (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48 kHz | Time – 39:43 minutes | 448 MB | Genre: Folk
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © DevilDuck Records

BAND MEMBERS: Paul Dillon – (Miracle Falls, Mercury Rev, Sparklehorse) Jason Merritt – (Whip, Timesbold) Jeff Mercel – (Mercury Rev, Grand Mal, Ultraam). The saddest singer/songwriter on DevilDuck is back! More than 11 (!) years ago we released the last sign of life from Portland, OR based Whip aka Jason Merritt called ‘Blues For Losers’ (2008) ‘still the best singer/songwriter album on our little label. Even we’ve been in loose contact over the years and re-released this album on vinyl for just egoistic reasons I was really surprised as Merritt reached out some months ago asking if we’d be in releasing a new album he has written and recorded with his friends Paul Dillon (Miracle Falls, Mercury Rev, Sparklehorse) and Jeff Mercel (Mercury Rev, Grand Mal, Ultraam) ‘ kind of obvious to choose the name Miracle Whips’ After listening to the album several times I had to recognize that the old magic still was there, but even in a more bigger magnificence so I really screamed that of course I’m dying to release this new album as well, but also let him know that as it’s essential to tour as much as possible I’d only release it when they’re willing to go on the road. ‘I’m honestly still not sure if touring is feasible. I know that’s the only way to sell records, but I’m old now. Also, I just don’t like people.’ Now we’re proud to finally release ‘The Art Of Facts’ February 21st worldwide and even though it might not be called a concept album the American zeitgeist had a big influence on the lyrics which as well as the music were originated on Merritt’s porch. All these songs for sure went through a long lasting writing process before they were written down on his ‘trusty, dusty’ typewriter from the 60’s. ‘Lyrics first’ has always been his device and he prefered to write all these in the dive bars of Portland. ‘Our approach was to be brutally honest with each other: the best idea wins and therefore we were very unsentimental when it came to editing as should be apparent from the notes’, says Dillon to how the 10 songs developed. The album was recorded live at Revolver Studios in Portland in a tiny room by Collin Hegna (Brian Jonestown Massacre, Federale) to create an intimate atmosphere which made it to the album for sure. The mastering was done by their old friend Scott Minor (Sparklehorse) in Knoxville, Tennessee.


01. Book of Matches (3:34)
02. The Stockade (6:10)
03. Captain Fuckpants (3:36)
04. Still Not Souled (3:47)
05. Stupid Bird (4:28)
06. Blue Guitar (2:44)
07. 5 in Gold (3:33)
08. Small and Good (4:19)
09. Funeral Parts (3:41)
10. Go with Gone (3:56)


Free Download

Back To Top