Artist: Netherlands Philharmonic Orchestra, Marc Albrecht
Title: Franz Schreker: Der Schatzgraber
Genre: Classical
Release Date: 2013
Duration: 02:31:02
Quality: High-Fidelity DSF Stereo DSD64/2.82MHz
Label: Challenge Records

Richard Wagner caused a toxic shock in western music. With Tristan und Isolde (1865), Die Meistersinger von Nrnberg (1868) and Parsifal (1882), to say nothing of Der Ring des Nibelungen (1876), he challenged his successors to take up the gauntlet, revive opera and establish a fresh ethical structure for the new generation. The 19th century slid in the 20th and such questions took on an urgent tone, as writers, artists, architects and composers sought to create a utopian present in an increasingly dystopian world. Franz Schreker, a Monaco-born composer who settled in Vienna, provided multiple answers through his kaleidoscopic operas. Looking back to Wagner, while embracing the fashions and forms of his own time, Schreker pondered what an artist should offer to modern society. In his fifth opera, Der Schatzgrber — composed between 1915 and 1918 and premiered in Frankfurt on 21 January 1920 — that crisis of conscience finds voice in mystic medievalism. But, despite those fairy-tale appearances, the questions posed by Schreker’s treasure seeker are as urgent as any found in Tristan, Die Meistersinger and Parsifal.
What made Wagner’s work so potent and influential was his ambition to change the way in which art functioned. The allegorical basis of much of his work found potency in his writings, such as the ‘Regeneration’ articles that accompanied Parsifal. These new operas, he proclaimed, were not a retrenchment into the days of yore, but profoundly political works about society’s desperate need for renewal (albeit based in dubious claims for vegetarianism and baleful anti-Semitism). In both his operas and those articles, Wagner described ‘the decline of the human race and the need for the establishment of a system of ethics’. Such ideas chimed with a Zeitgeist of renewal emerging across Europe at the time.
In Vienna, where Schreker’s family settled in the late 1880s, that fervour was manifest in a series of major physical, political and intellectual shifts. After revolutions across the Habsburg Empire in 1848, Emperor Franz Josef had instituted a new town plan for the Imperial capital. Knocking down its defensive walls, he ordered the construction of a Ringstrae, complete with totemic municipal buildings or what historian Philipp Blom describes as ‘a self-aggrandising European Las Vegas, dignified by the passage of history’. Despite its self-serving grandeur, these physical changes over the latter half of the 19th century set in train a sequence of artistic movements, presaging not least the reaction of the Secession.


01 – Vorspiel- Was sagst du dazu
02 – Vorspiel- So hort, Herr Konig
03 – Erster Aufzug- Lass mich
04 – Erster Aufzug- Ah Ah
05 – Erster Aufzug- Soll ich
06 – Erster Aufzug- Mein Kind, Elsh
07 – Erster Aufzug- Halloh, halloh
08 – Erster Aufzug- Schon Abend
09 – Erster Aufzug- So hort meinen San
10 – Erster Aufzug- Kommt, kommt
11 – Erster Aufzug- Els Els
12 – Erster Aufzug- Das werdet Ihr nicht
13 – Zweiter Aufzug- Ziemlich langsamh
14 – Zweiter Aufzug- Ein odes Nest
15 – Zweiter Aufzug- Tibi soli peccavi
16 – Zweiter Aufzug- Elis – Mutter
17 – Zweiter Aufzug- Genug Macht ein Ende
18 – Zweiter Aufzug- Wie ich lebte, so lasst mich sterben
19 – Zweiter Aufzug- Er ist von Sinnen
20 – Zweiter Aufzug- Lasst ab von dem
21 – Zweiter Aufzug- Er kommt, er kommt morgen
22 – Zweiter Aufzug- Els Els
23 – Dritter Aufzug- Klein war ich noch
24 – Dritter Aufzug- Els – Elis, endlich
25 – Dritter Aufzug- Rubato – Ziemlich langsam
26 – Dritter Aufzug- Geheimnisvoll kundet die Nacht sich an
27 – Dritter Aufzug- Kein Grauen, Freund
28 – Dritter Aufzug- Ich bin kein Schemen
29 – Dritter Aufzug- In sanfter ruhiger Bewegung – Mehr und mehr gesteigert
30 – Dritter Aufzug- Du sollst mich nie fragen
31 – Dritter Aufzug- In fortwahrender Steigerung
32 – Dritter Aufzug- Was soll das
33 – Vierter Aufzug- Allegro con spirito
34 – Vierter Aufzug- Nun, Narr, du hast es gelost
35 – Vierter Aufzug- Wenn Majestat geruhn zu erlauben
36 – Vierter Aufzug- Am Ilsenstein in uralter Zeit
37 – Vierter Aufzug- Wie seid Ihr toricht
38 – Vierter Aufzug- Halt, o Konig
39 – Vierter Aufzug- Ah! Hort auf
40 – Vierter Aufzug- Ha, ha Herr Konig
41 – Vierter Aufzug- Dank, Dank, Herr Konig
42 – Vierter Aufzug- Komm, komm, mein Brautchen
43 – Nachspiel- Sehr getragen
44 – Nachspiel- Dank, dass Ihr kamt
45 – Nachspiel- Els – Wer ist da
46 – Nachspiel- Du legst dein Kopfchen jetzt sanft zur Seit
47 – Nachspiel- Amen, so seis