Rachael & Vilray – Rachael & Vilray (2019) [24bit FLAC]

Rachael & Vilray – Rachael & Vilray (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 35:53 minutes | 670 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Nonesuch

It’s a sublime journey back to the pop gems of the 30s and 40s and inspired originals as Lake Street Dive vocalist Rachael Price joins guitarist and singer Vilray for this intimate performance. First meeting in the early 2000s at Boston’s New England Conservatory of Music and bonding over a shared love of Tin Pan Alley classics, the duo revel in the era’s songs that pair sweetly melodic approaches with lingering traces of melancholy, focused on tightly meshed vocal harmonies and lyrics of love and loss.

Since their initial meeting, Price has gone on to front the soul-pop superstar band Lake Street Dive, while Vilray has made waves as a Brooklyn-based solo artist in the classic crooner style, recording two albums including his latest release 7 Singles, recorded direct to acetate disc to capture all the historic warmth and crackle of the era. Together, Price and Vilray create an irresistible alchemy that echoes artists ranging from Les Paul and Mary Ford to the Merry Macs, the Modernaires, Fats Waller and Peggy Lee, often performing while sharing an early ribbon microphone from the 30s along with Vilray’s collection of vintage guitars and amplifiers. The duo has performed at the Newport Folk Festival and Jazz at Lincoln Center, and is preparing the release of their debut album.


01. Without a Thought for My Heart
02. Do Friends Fall in Love?
03. Alone at Last
04. Treat Me Better
05. Nosotros
06. At Your Mother’s House
07. I Can’t Go to Sleep
08. I Love the Way You’re Breaking My Heart
09. The Laundromat Swing
10. Go on Shining (feat. Jon Batiste)
11. Let’s Make Love on This Plane
12. There’s No True Love


Free Download

Back To Top