Roberto Fonseca – Yesun (2019) [24bit FLAC]

Roberto Fonseca – Yesun (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 54:21 minutes | 602 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Wagram Music – 3ème Bureau

Cuban pianist’s 9th album, Yesun plunges us into Afro-Cuban traditions, a mixed and contemporary cocktail, as Roberto Fonseca knows so well. In addition to his usual trio, there are many guests on this album including trumpeter Ibrahim Maalouf, saxophonist Joe Lovano or Cuban singer / rapper Danay Suarez.

Yesun demonstrates the artistic development of one of the most gifted pianists on the planet. The Cuban Roberto Fonseca embarked on his magical journey at an early age, learning drums at the age of four and starting piano when he was eight. Fonesca was involved with the Buena Vista Social Club, taking over from Ruben Gonzalez on piano and accompanying Ibrahim Ferrer and Omara Portuando. He has also toured with Mayra Andrade (from Cape Verde) and Fatoumata Diawara (from Mali), experiences which have – alongside his natural curiosity – inspired him to intertwine the essence of Cuban music and its African sources with those of Western classical music, jazz and urban music (rock, hip-hop, electro…). Yesun is characterised by universalism, which is mediated through elegant compositions, virtuosity and high-flying friends. Ibrahim Maalouf’s trumpet enriches Cachucha, Joe Lavano’s saxophone ignites Vivo, and the suave Cuban rapper Danay Suárez makes Cadenas thoroughly enchanting.
Like a chameleon (one that is sensitive and alert), Roberto Fonseca moves from the great Fazoli piano to electric pianos (Clavinet, Rhodes, Wurlitzer), synths (Moog, Prophet) and percussion, from congas to the mic. He pays tribute to soul (Motown), Cuban music (Aggua, Mambo pa la niña, Clave) and European romanticism (Por Ti) where his piano is sumptuously tender. Supported by drummer Raúl Herrera and double bassist Yandy Martínez-Rodriguez, Fonseca’s playing is precise, bright and completely inimitable. – Benjamin MiNiMuM


01. La llamada (feat. Gema 4)
02. Kachucha (feat. Ibrahim Maalouf)
03. Cadenas (feat. Danay Suarez
04. Por ti
05. Aggua
06. Motown
07. Stone of Hope
08. Vivo (feat. Joe Lovano)
09. OO
10. Mambo pa la niña (feat. Gema 4)
11. Ocha
12. No soy de esos
13. Clave

Free Download

Back To Top