Sun Ra - Of Abstract Dreams (2018) [FLAC] Download

Artist: Sun Ra
Title: Of Abstract Dreams
Genre: Jazz
Release Date: 2018
Duration: 00:39:13
Quality: FLAC Stereo 16bit/44,1kHz
Size: 170.46 MB
Tracks: 4
Source: Sun_Ra-of_Abstract_Dreams-CD-FLAC-2018-FORSAKEN

Of Abstract Dreams contains four compositions recorded by Sun Ra & His Arkestra sometime during the mid-’70s, presumably at the studios of University of Philadelphia radio station WXPN, decades before they changed their format and discarded much of their recorded archive. The lineup varies from track to track, but Arkestra regulars such as Marshall Allen, Danny Ray Thompson, and percussionist Atakatune contribute to all of the pieces, and Eddie Thomas drums throughout. All of the tracks are generally carefree, joyous, and free-flowing, filled with handclaps, spirited vocals, and loosely swinging rhythms. Nobody played bass on these sessions, so they all retain a spacy, untethered quality, but Ra’s harmonious piano playing keeps things moving along. “New Dawn” is the most obscure piece here, and it’s easily the most experimental, as well as the most abrasive, with scorching sax eruptions from several Arkestra members. A playful rendition of bluesman Lacy Gibson’s “I’m Gonna Unmask the Batman” includes gruff lead vocals from James Jacson, and ends up with a sudden cosmic burst from the group. Best of all is an extended take on “I’ll Wait for You,” an Arkestra concert staple that also featured in the film Space Is the Place. Instead of being sung/recited by June Tyson, however, it’s delivered by Atakatune, Jacson, and Ra himself. Balancing an outer-space glide with more freewheeling firepower from the musicians, as well as a sense of celestial longing to the lyrics, it’s a prime example of why Ra’s strange, abstract music is so powerful.


  1. Sun Ra – Island In The Sun – 8:36
  2. Sun Ra – New Dawn – 10:31
  3. Sun Ra – I’m Gonna Unmask The Batman – 6:06
  4. Sun Ra – I’ll Wait For You – 14:02

Download Links :