The Beach Boys – Sunflower (1970/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/192 kHz | Time – 36:58 minutes | 1,56 GB | Genre: Pop
Studio Master, Official Digital Download  – Source: HDTracks | Artwork: Front cover | © Capitol Records

Sunflower, released in 1970, marked the debut of the Beach Boys on Reprise Records after spending almost a decade at Capitol. The album scored more positively with critics than at the cash registers, however, racking up accolades and glowing reviews around the world. Rolling Stone included Sunflower at number 300 on the list of the 500 greatest albums of all time; in his 2006 biography of Brian Wilson, writer and critic Peter Ames Carlin compared Sunflower to Sgt. Pepper by the Beatles.

After Reprise rejected what was to be their debut album for the label, the Beach Boys re-entered the studio to begin work on what would become a largely different set of songs. The results signaled a creative rebirth for the band, a return to the beautiful harmonies and orchestral productions of their classic mid-’60s material. Though the songwriting didn’t quite reach the high quality of “California Girls” or “God Only Knows,” Sunflower showed the Beach Boys truly working as a band, and doing so better than they ever had in the past (or would in the future). Many of the songs were co-compositions, and the undeniable songwriting and performance talents of Dennis Wilson and Bruce Johnston were finally allowed to flourish: Dennis contributed “Slip On Through,” “Forever,” and “Got to Know the Woman,” while Bruce wrote “Deirdre” and “Tears in the Morning.” After a succession of spare, unadorned lead vocals on rock-oriented albums like Wild Honey and 20/20, Sunflower returned the Beach Boys to gorgeous vocal harmonies on the tracks “Add Some Music to Your Day,” “Cool, Cool Water,” and “This Whole World.” And the arrangements, tight and inventive, showed Brian Wilson once again back near the top of his game (though the production is credited to the entire band). Sunflower is also a remarkably cohesive album, something not seen from the Beach Boys since Pet Sounds. As with that album, Sunflower earned critical raves in Britain but was virtually ignored in America. ~~AllMusic Review by John Bush

1. Slip On Through 02:19
2. This Whole World 01:58
3. Add Some Music To Your Day 03:36
4. Got To Know The Woman 02:44
5. Deirdre 03:30
6. It’s About Time 02:58
7. Tears In The Morning 04:11
8. All I Wanna Do 02:37
9. Forever 02:43
10. Our Sweet Love 02:41
11. At My Window 02:32
12. Cool, Cool Water 05:09

Al Jardine – vocals, guitar
Bruce Johnston – vocals
Mike Love – vocals
Brian Wilson – vocals, piano, bass, Moog on “Cool, Cool Water”
Carl Wilson – vocals, guitar, bass
Dennis Wilson – vocals, guitar, tack piano, bongo