Artist: The Beach Boys
Title: The Beach Boys
Genre: Pop Rock
Release Date: 1985
Duration: 00:40:23
Quality: High-Fidelity FLAC Stereo 24bit/192kHz
Label: Capitol Records

This self-titled 1985 album from the Beach Boys marked the beginning of a new era for the band: it was the first to be recorded following the death of Dennis Wilson two years earlier and it also brought the Beach Boys into the modern era of electronics, synthesizers, drum machines and 1980s production courtesy of Culture Club producer Steve Levine. Including the top 30 US hit Getcha Back, the album features guests Ringo Starr and Stevie Wonder, Culture Club member Roy Hay, rock guitarist Gary Moore and horn and string players.

The Beach Boys’ first new studio album in five years was a concerted attempt to regain old glories, which it did to an extent, selling better than any record since 15 Big Ones and spinning off the Top 30 single “Getcha Back” and the chart entry “It’s Gettin’ Late.” But despite the production sheen provided by Steve Levine (of Culture Club fame), this is another competent but uninspired effort. ~~AllMusic Review by William Ruhlmann


  1. Getcha Back – 3:02
  2. It’s Gettin’ Late – 3:27
  3. Crack At Your Love – 3:39
  4. Maybe I Don’t Know – 3:54
  5. She Believes In Love Again – 3:31
  6. California Calling – 2:52
  7. Passing Friend – 4:59
  8. I’m So Lonely – 2:52
  9. Where I Belong – 2:58
  10. I Do Love You – 4:20
  11. It’s Just A Matter Of Time – 2:25
  12. Male Ego – 2:31